If I changed something from my past, would my life be any different?

Most often than not we take what we have done in the past for granted. We do things accordingly and act instantly without regard to what it might imply in the coming days. We are always looking forward and never a glimpse back on the past.

Still, if given the chance to change something from the past, would it affect my life now?

The aforementioned is one of the most asked questions yet only a few of us dared to take the path and answered it. Subjectively speaking, I believe that yes, my life now would be different given the opportunity to change something from the past. I would be dealing with different sets of options and choices and would be traversing a different path given the subliminal change.

I admit, I have my “regret” moments from most of my actions, words spoken and decisions made in the past. I have been as carefree as a child and thought only of myself when it comes to feelings and decisions. I think of the moment and take it as it is; never minding what tomorrow might bring because of such.

I know I have to be more careful. I have to understand the possible implications and would be consequences in the coming days. In other words, I have to be mindful of how I am today to have lesser regrets in the future.

I believe eliminating regret is not inevitably possible but trying to have less regrets is deemed possible. Humans as we are, we are prone to commit mistakes, fail and succeed all at the same time. We are capable of learning and adapting and most often than not, we associate failing with past mistakes. Though considered true, it is not entirely true for not everything in the past could and should be blamed for what we are experiencing now.

For some, the past is their training ground while others regard the past as their mistake. Whatever may it be called, the past would always and still be a part of who you are. Regret or not, the past has been and nowhere could it be changed. The best and only way to compensate for what we have done in the past is to be more careful and mindful of how we live our lives now to have less regrets in the coming days.

Yes, if given the chance, I would like to correct something’s in my past but that would change who I am now. I would like to believe that I am now capable of nourishing and furthering my life and intellectually wise as compared before. However, I would not be the same person as I am now. Things would be different; I would be different.

In no way am I saying that I would not take the plunge and go forth change a part of my  past, because I have aforementioned my willingness to, but that would still be dependent on my gusto.

My quest for a better life is dependent on my present and future. I have to make the most out of what I have in order to establish a connection with my future. Moreover, this is what Neuro Linguistic Programming (NLP) is all about. NLP helps improve the future by guiding the present with the past. Simply put, the future is but the combination of the past and the present.

Thus, the dependency on the act of changing shall emanate innately. If you could change something from your past then, by all means, do so but be ready to accept the change and other consequences that might come with it.

Learn HOW TO eliminate regret in your life through Neuro Linguistic Programming.

 Visit http://www.nlpcoaching.com for more details.

About nlpcoachingaustralia

I am a passionate student of philosophy and enjoys exploring the many facets of life. I take pleasure in reading a good book while sipping his cup of coffee.
This entry was posted in NLP and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

