Neuro Linguistic Programming and Me

Neuro Linguistic Programming helped me cope up with my loss.

I remember like it was just yesterday. I was sitting on my porch, trying to finish my workload I opted to bring home, when my phone beeped. I looked at it and saw your name. Anticipating that it would just be you informing me of your whereabouts, I got the surprise of my life when I read your message. It reads: “I’m transferring zip codes. Work. For good. As soon as possible.”  I re-read the message a fifth time and suddenly it hit me, you really are leaving. Without missing a beat, I messaged you back, “Are you kidding me?”  Then you called.

The phone call dragged on like hours as you spilled the news. I can hear your happiness and anticipation but at the same time, I can hear sadness on your tone. I had to activate my “happy button” so you would not feel bad for leaving me. I meant what I said, indeed, I am happy for you. That is the truth. However, part of me wants to tell you to stay and not leave. Nevertheless, that would be selfish of me.

The day finally came that you had to leave. I was devastated but life must go on. I saw you one last time and it broke my heart in pieces. I know you are happy and I must be too.

In the days that followed, I made myself busy with work and reunited with my friends back when I did not have you in my life. They made sure I live my life accordingly and not let your void hold me back. I had to fight the urge to stay in bed, cry until my eyes are all red and puffed. Life has to go on. Life must go on.

I found myself dumfounded with the spectacle that was Neuro Linguistic Programming or NLP. Hesitant but willing to learn how others are able to break free from their past and continue with a brighter life.

Let go of your past and anything that is holding you back. Though hard, I learned that the past, though significant, would always form part of your life. It could not be deleted like a typographical error in the computer nor be removed like a stained nail polish. The past would always form part of who and what you are now. However, life today and tomorrow could be well lived without having to hold onto yesterday.

Do I need to sulk on the fact that you had to leave me here? For a moment there, yes. However, as days turn into months and months into years, I had to find my way back to my happy place. I had to. I have to be happy for myself and not for others. I have to have myself back and learn to live without you. Nonetheless, I did.

Letting go of you was hard but I had to. I cannot afford to be morose and waste my life on past events. I have to find my life back. Thank you NLP.

Learn more about NLP. Visit them at http://www.nlpcoaching.com

About nlpcoachingaustralia

I am a passionate student of philosophy and enjoys exploring the many facets of life. I take pleasure in reading a good book while sipping his cup of coffee.
This entry was posted in NLP and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

